Polish speedway racing team ready for The World Games 2017
Invitation Sports

Polish speedway racing team ready for The World Games 2017

Tomorrow promises to be a day of thrills featuring one of the biggest attractions of this 10th edition of The World Games 2017. At 19.00 seven of the world’s best speedway racing teams will take to the track in the newly renovated Olympic Stadium.

Maciej Janowski, Bartosz Zmarzlik and Patryk Dudek will again take to the track as a trio in red and white, the same group that recently won the Team World Cup. Janowski also took top honours in the recent British Grand Prix in Cardiff. All this means that the host nation’s team will be heavily favoured in Saturday’s races. The tournament will also include Denmark, Sweden, Russia, Australia, Germany and Great Britain.

The Polish team boast some of the world’s best. Zmarzlik was a bronze medallist in the IMŚ in 2016. Janowski, an Ambassador of The World Games 2017 and number two in the Grand Prix standings is just one spot ahead of Dudek.

Who are Poland’s top rivals in the tournament? Australia, Sweden, Russia and Denmark all pose a threat. The competition will feature the individual world champion in 2012, Australian Chris Holder as well as Sweden’s excellent rider, Fredrik Lindgren, who captured the PGE National Grand Prix of Poland on 13 May.

As a reminder, speedway racing is one of four invitational disciplines, in addition to American football, kickboxing and indoor rowing, to be chosen for the sport program of The World Games 2017 by the residents of the host city. Speedway racing appears on the line-up for the second time, after being part of the TWG in 1985 in London.


The World Games Wrocław 2017 (Saturday, 29 July, 19.00, Olympic Stadium)

Denmark: 1. Niels-Kristian Iversen, 2. Kenneth Bjerre, 15. Michael Jepsen Jensen, manager: Hans Nielsen.

Sweden: 3. Fredrik Lindgren, 4. Antonio Lindbaeck, 16. Peter Ljung, manager: Morgan Andersson.

Russia: 5. Andriej Kudriaszow, 6. Victor Kulakov, 17. Emil Sajfutdinow, manager: Andriej Sawin.

Australia: 7. Jason Doyle, 8. Chris Holder, 18. Max Fricke, manager: Mark Lemon.

Germany: 9. Martin Smolinski, 10. Kai Huckenbeck, 19. Erik Riss, manager: Herbert Rudolph.

Poland: 11. Bartosz Zmarzlik, 12. Maciej Janowski, 20. Patryk Dudek, manager: Marek Cieślak

Great Britain: 13. Craig Cook, 14. Robert Lambert, 21. Steve Worrall, manager: Alun Rossiter.