Fistball: Qualifications for TWG 2017
Ball Sports

Fistball: Qualifications for TWG 2017

Germany won the World Fistball Championship beating Switzerland in the final 4:0 (11:05, 11:02, 11:04, 11:08) on Sunday. The team of Austria achieved bronze after defeating Brazil 4:1 (11:4, 9:11, 11:1, 11:8, 11:3). From 14 to 22 November the best national teams from five continents competed against each other at the Men’s World Championship in Córdoba, Argentina.

Bez tytułu

Germany was the defending champion after winning the tournament in 2011. It was the 11th title for the Germans since the World Championships were held for the first time in 1968. The team achieved the gold medal at The World games 2013 in Cali/Colombia, too.

During the World Championships there was more to win than medals. The event was indicated to qualify the teams for The World Games 2017 in Wroclaw/Poland (20 -30 July 2017). In advance of the event the International Fistball Federation announced the qualification criteria for TWG 2017. The best five teams of this World Championship automatically qualify for the World Games 2017 in Wroclaw, Poland. The Polish team receives the wild card spot for being the hosting country and therefore also automatically qualified for the World Games.


The following countries have qualified for TWG 2017:

  1. Poland (host country)
  2. Germany (World Champion)
  3. Switzerland
  4. Austria
  5. Brazil
  6. Argentina

Sorce: IWGA